General Internal Medicine: Wightman Berris Academy Director - Dr. Katina Tzanetos

May 9, 2017

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Katina Tzanetos as the Wightman Berris Academy Director effective June 1, 2017 for a five-year term. The Academy Director is the University of Toronto, Faculty of Medicine Dean’s representative and is responsible for excellence in the undergraduate educational programs at the Wightman Berris Academy. 

Dr. Tzanetos graduated from the MD Program at McMaster University and completed her Master's of Health Science in Community Health and Epidemiology from the University of Toronto. She is an assistant professor in the Faculty of Medicine and is a member of the Department of General Internal Medicine at the University Health Network and at the Sinai Health System.

Dr. Tzanetos has many leadership roles in the MD Program including Lead of Clinical Skills and Chair of the Clinical Skills Committee and Test Committee, co-lead of the AACE-IT program, which provides remediation and academic support to MD Program students and is a member of the MD Program Admissions Committee and Board of Examiners.

Dr. Tzanetos is a highly regarded and committed teacher who has received numerous teaching awards including the MD Program Mary E. Hollington Teaching Award for excellence in undergraduate medical education and the 2014 Class of 8T9 Medical Alumni Award. The graduating class selects the recipient of the teaching award and it is given to a teacher for being an outstanding role model who displays compassion, guidance and understanding to the students in the MD Program.

We would like to thank Dr. Jacqueline James for her outstanding dedication and leadership as the Academy Director for the Wightman Berris Academy for the past eleven years.

Please join us in welcoming and congratulating Dr. Tzanetos as she takes on this exciting new leadership role.

Best regards,

Patricia Houston, MD, MEd FRCPC                                         
Vice Dean, MD Program                                                           
Professor, Department of Anesthesia                                    
Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto                          

Brian Hodges, MD, PhD, FRCPC
Executive Vice-President, Education
University Health Network
Professor, Department of Psychiatry

Jacqueline James, MD, MEd, FRCPC
Vice-President, Education
Sinai Health System
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine